Children's Cycling Training

We use the national cycle training scheme Bikeability. In Bournemouth, this is managed by our Road Safety team. Bikeability is the modern day cycling proficiency.

Sessions are currently free and take place Kings Park Cycle Centre. Courses take place most Saturdays and during most school holidays, from March to October.  Each course takes two mornings to complete. Our instructors are all fully qualified to the national standard and are DBS checked. (Some schools also host Bikeability training, so you could ask your child's school if they will be offering one of our courses in the future.)

Upcoming courses

At present, we have availability for the following Saturdays with Bikeability Levels 1 and 2 being held over two consecutive weeks.  Please note that we offer two different course times for each date (09:00 – 12:00 and 13:00 – 16:00) so please state requested course time when booking.

Saturday courses

Course Duration 6 hours

  • Sat 19 Mar - Level 1 / Sat 26 Mar - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Sat 09 Apr - Level 1 /  Sat 16 Apr - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Sat 23 Apr - Level 1 /   Sat 30 Apr - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Sat 07 May - Level 1 / Sat 14 May - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Sat 21 May - Level 1 / Sat 28 May - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Sat 04 Jun - Level 1 / Sat 11 Jun - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00 

6 pupils per session

Easter Holiday courses (Levels 1 and 2 being held over two consecutive days), again with both a.m. and p.m. course times.

  • Tue 29 Mar - Level 1 /  Wed 30 Mar - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Thu 31 Mar - Level 1 /   Fri  01 Apr - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Mon 04 Apr - Level 1 /  Tue 05 Apr - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00
  • Wed 06 Apr - Level 1 /  Thu 07 Apr - Level 2 - 09:00 - 12:00 or 13:00 to 16:00

To book a course...

Places are limited. Please let us know your preferred dates(s).

To book a course, please email road.safety@bournemouth.gov.uk with the following details: parent/guardian's full name, child’s full name, address, landline and mobile (for emergencies), age of child, year group and school of child.

 

Posted on 04/03/2016